Don’t Take That Nap!!!!

Are you sleepy? Have the grey doldrums gotten you down? I don’t care, DO NOT TAKE THAT NAP! But have no fear, I know how to get you in somewhere even better and possibly even cozier than your bed. Can you guess where?

img_0418
My face as I left the house

It’s the Karolinska light room ya’ll!! Literally the brightest and best place to spend an hour of your day if you woke up to the cold dark world of winter time (illustrated by the picture to the right).

Hopefully this isn’t too much of a shock, because I’m sure you’ve read my previous blog on winter survival tips and took notes like a good student, but if you missed it you can refresh here.

Long story short, winter here is cold obviously, but the hardest thing for me is the darkness. Waking up in the dark, going to lectures, and then coming out and surprise, it is STILL dark. Well it can take its toll.

Thankfully Karolinska Institutet is the best school ever in the world, and it provides a magical white room, full of light for you to recharge your mind, body, and soul.

Before you come you have to go ahead and book a 30min or 1hr appointment time here (because like I said it’s exclusive).  When you finally get a reservation at the hottest club in town, you will come the the library building here in Solna.

 

img_3996
Me getting happy and making some Vitamin D in the Karolinska Solna light room

Upon stepping into the light room, immediately the air will smell fresh and clean (even more so if you’ve just come from the crowded bus/train) . You’ve already locked your overcoat and shoes in a locker, so you’ll slip on your provided luxurious white robe and get cozy. I promise you, this is probably the most white you have ever seen in the hipster land of Sweden. So this might be a shock.

 

tina_stafren-higher_education-3816
Pictured here : Swedish National Dress

Well thats no problem, just slide yourself into a comfy chair and take a moment to recover. Soon you will feel almost like a buzzing of energy in your body as your skin cells start converting UV waves into D3. ( For a video tour check out our Instagram @KIstudents )

Next you will experience a rush of good feeling , which according to researchers, is a chemical reaction that happens in your brain due to the light stimulating your optic nerves. Oooooooh! Super sciency, I love it!

To ease the boredom of sitting in a room for an hour, this can be a great time to catch up on all of that lecture material you need to do, surf on the internet, or shockingly talk to the stranger sitting next to you. Anything is possible in the light room.

If you prefer to get your light therapy alone, or possibly naked (no judgment), this might not be the place for you. But guess what you can bring this magic home!!!

light-therapy-box
At home light therapy box

All the benefits of the this type of therapy can be found in a box at your local electronic store ( called a ljusterapilampa in Swedish) . Caution though, all light therapy boxes are not created the same. Here are some helpful guidelines from The Mayo Clinic:

The light box should:

  • Provide an exposure to 10,000 lux of light
  • Emit as little UV light as possible

Typical recommendations :

  • Use within the first hour of waking up in the morning
  • For about 20 to 30 minutes
  • At a distance of about 16 to 24 inches (41 to 61 centimeters) from the face
  • With eyes open, but not looking directly at the light

I hope this helps you, and that you enjoy take advantage of this little bit of sunshine here at KI. Comment below and let me know how it went!!!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Don’t Take That Nap!!!!

  1. I’ve always wondered how people in colder climates deal with long winters, and whether or not the darkness would affect me as badly as it does others.

    I have a basement apartment, so no windows in my bedroom, and I’d say it’s a blessing – especially when I work nights and need to catch up on sleep in the daytime. The total darkness helps me sleep, but is probably not best for productivity. That’s as close as I’ve come.

    I’m trying to wrap my mind around it but I guess I would have to experience it to understand.

    1. You should come to Karolinska and experience it! I think that as long as you’re mindful of good sleep hygiene, the winters can be really cozy and foster a lot of camaraderie between people. It is something I ever experienced until I moved here.

Leave a Reply

