Carolina meets Karolinska

Hej, välkommen! Welcome to my blog!

Be ready to immerse yourself in the life of a Master’s student at one of the world’s foremost medical universities, Karolinska Institutet! I’m Carolina a Spanish-French “hybridoma”! This year, as a KI Digital Ambassador, I will be blogging about the Master’s Programme I have just started: Molecular Techniques in Life Science. It is a new programme that brings together Karolinska Institutet, KTH Royal Institute of Technology and Stockholm University, the three main universities in Stockholm. This collaboration gives rise to a unique group of internationally recognized professors teaching students with a wide diversity of backgrounds and coming from all around the world!

Growing up in two countries-France and Spain

I grew up in two countries, two cultures and two languages. My mum often says that my siblings and I were ‘born and raised in a car’, from the very first days of our lives we had been travelling around. I grew up in a little village, in the north of Spain. My parents conveyed me the values of freedom of thought during my childhood and emphasized my education in developing creativity. This led me to undertake many different activities: playing the cello and later on, the piano, taking singing lessons and dancing ballet for almost 18 years of my life!

From Biotechnology in Valencia to an internship at Karolinska

I studied my Bachelor of Biotechnology in Valencia. After a lot of hard work and thousands of hours at the library, I finally graduated! And, after waiting years for it, I felt completely lost but with an immense desire to fly away. So, I decided it was time to start a new adventure! —> Swedeeeen!!

I arrived to Stockholm one year ago, in August 2015. What initially was going to be a mere four months internship ended up in a whole year research assistant job in the Department of Microbiology, Tumor and Cell Biology at Karolinska Institutet. Not only I became reconciled with research (I was a bit overwhelmed after 5 years of studying it!), but also I did loved the experience: the lab experiments, the scientific discussions, the opportunity of meeting recognized scientists from all around the world and even attending the Nobel Seminars!!!

dscf8340
Microbiology, Tumor and Cell Biology  Department’s entrance!

Department of Microbiology, Tumor and Cell Biology (MTC): MTC

Why Stockholm?

I had come to Stockholm some years earlier to visit one of my cousins and I completely fall in love with this city. Merging the Baltic Sea with Lake Mälaren in the heart of the city, and built on fourteen islands, Stockholm offers peerless urban scenery. Plus, for a South European girl, the idea of moving to Sweden fully drew me! Snow and cold all around, I just love it!

dsc_5794
Stockholm’s Old Town from top of the Tower of City Hall

Why KI?

–          Because it is in Stockholm

–          Because it is one of the leading universities in Europe

–          Because of the  high quality of the scientific research

–          Because it is the cradle of the Nobel Prize in Medicine or Physiology!

Why the of Master Molecular Techniques in Life Science?

The novelty of this programme together with its diversity made me decide to apply for it. It has been created by a group of researchers that designed it for young scientists they would like to have in their labs. The education is given by three universities of excellence, each of them teaching the field they are expertise in: Karolinska is responsible for the medical courses and KTH for the technical ones. And finally, Science for Life Laboratory is where this Master was created, which is a national centre for translational medicine and molecular biosciences merging academia with industry. I can easily portrait myself working in such an environment in a couple of years!

Link Master’s webpage: Molecular Techniques in Life Science

Contact me!

Throught this blog or by email.

email: carolina.savatier-dupre.banares@stud.ki.se

Linkedin: Carolina Savatier-Dupré Bañares

You can also follow me in the social networks!

Instagram: Carolina Savatier-Dupré Bañare

Twitter: Carolina Savatier

Facebook: Carolina Savatier-Dupré Bañares

 

 

Leave a Reply

