Welcome to my world!

Hey there! Take a seat, maybe some coffee and let me introduce myself. Before I start talking about how I ended up here at Karolinska Institute (KI) studying the Bachelor’s Programme in Biomedicine, let me tell you a little something about my life until now.

My name is Nishi and I come from  Mumbai, India. I lived there for almost 14 years but then I moved to Belgium, the place I love and now call home. I finished my secondary school education in Belgium and  grew up knowing two different cultures, enough languages to get myself confused –the struggle is real –and most importantly how different each place and the people are!

Had I known that I wanted to pursue a career to do with research or medicine? Well, sort of; it was either science or architecture- until I realised that I was downright terrible at drawing no matter how much 8 year old me tried to convince myself that I could get better!  Science on the other hand, well that’s a different story. As the complexity of what we learned in Biology started increasing over the academic years, I realised I could not have seen myself study any other subject with the same passion. That coupled with all the visits to grandpa’s clinic in India or even the surgery I got to observe during my internship in Belgium or taking up the task of writing a 4000 word essay on Diabetes Type 2 during secondary school, all influenced my decision to pursuing this educational path.

Ever since then I could only see myself become a doctor or a reseacher because I knew that I wanted to learn more about the human body, the plethora of diseases that exist and the way the two interact. In the last year of of my International Baccalaureate programme, I started my research on potential university choices. It was a bleak October evening , with research going on and a cup of coffee in hand, when my father suggested to research Karolinska Institutet as another option because it offered the course I was looking for. A few weeks later, in 2014, I come to Sweden and visit KI for the first time. This decision of visiting the university played a MAJOR role in helping me decide that studying at KI was what I wanted.

The vast amount of research that goes on at KI, the international environment and knowing that this is one of the universities that will help me achieve my aspirations was enough for me to know that the choice I made was right.  More so, it is so easy to fall in love with this scenic and beautiful city!

14677878_1547786425247243_1473546840_o.jpg

By the lake during a sunny evening in Stockholm!

I loved the idea of moving to a completely new place, the independence this decision would offer and all the different adventures that were in store for me. And so, with the bags packed and some 1700 km of driving later here I am! 2 months have passed by and I have enjoyed/loved every moment so far.

This is just the beginning! I shall keep you updated on life here at KI and as a Biomed student. Stay tuned and keep an eye out for more posts.

If you have any questions feel free to contact me via email- nishi.dave@stud.ki.se

See you later!

Nishi.

KI Digital Ambassador.

One thought on “Welcome to my world!

Leave a Reply

