The story behind my decision to pursue a Master’s in Health Informatics at KI

Dear reader,

 

by clicking on this post you’re willingly stepping into the world of a Serbian dentist studying Health Informatics at KI. I am hoping you will find it interesting enough to stick around for a while and choose to become a part of my journey. The content of this blog will mostly be programme related but there will also be some posts about the numerous perks of student life in Sweden, as well as useful tips for dealing with the inevitable culture shock. Bearing in mind the character of this blog I assume you’ve found your way here due to one of the following reasons:

  • you are a prospective KI student,
  • you are interested in Health Informatics, or
  • you are just a friend / family member  who is curious to know what is it that I have been doing at KI or Sweden in general.

Who am I?

My name is Nikola, I am 24 years old and I come from the very heart of Serbia’s vibrant capital, Belgrade. Some of my interests include travelling, learning foreign languages and singing. I have recently graduated from the Faculty of Dental Medicine, University of Belgrade. That being said, the answer to your question is YES! If we do get the opportunity to meet I most probably will judge you based on your smile. However, my professional deformation should in no way make you refrain from smiling when I am around! 🙂

strawberry_tree_black_in_tasmajdan_park_in_belgrade
Tašmajdan park, Belgrade

How did I end up Sweden?

My story with Sweden began two years ago when I spent ten days travelling through Morocco with two Swedish girls I met while staying in a hostel in Fes. Hearing and learning some Swedish (e.g. “sjuksköterska” which is Swedish for nurse) during that time sparked up my interest in taking up a new language. I realise that this might sound rather silly to some of you, but I have always had a keen interest in languages so signing up for a Swedish  course seemed like a great outlet in everyday life. My teachers’ enthusiasm for Sweden rubbed off on me and I started thinking about continuing my studies in Sweden. Fast forward two years and what began as a creative outlet resulted in me living out my very own “Swedish experience” (check out #MySwedishExperience  for some of my Instagram posts).

Why did I choose to do a Master’s in Health Informatics at KI?

There are many reasons why this programme was the only one I applied for. I chose to shake things up and move into the field of Health Informatics because I would like to be a part of some major changes the health care system will face in the upcoming years. I am also very interested in contributing to the implementation of modern IT solutions within the field of dental education.

How is the programme structured?

The programme is established as a cooperation between Karolinska Institutet and the Department of Computer and Systems Sciences (DSV) of Stockholm University. What that means is, experts from both fields are working together in order to provide the Health Informatics students with the best possible education.

 

My experience with the programme so far

Having just completed the introductory course I have come to realise that the possibilities and needs of implementing Health Informatics within the health care system are even greater than I had initially thought. I am currently attending the SUPCOM course run by the DSV department of Stockholm University  and learning about the basics of IT. You will be able to read more about that in the following posts, so stay tuned!

 

I hope you enjoyed reading my first blog post. You are welcome to post comments and / or questions in the comment section bellow or via e-mail and I will try to get back to you as soon as possible.

 

Nikola Mastilović

Digital Ambassador

 

 

Contact me via:

Instagram: nomad_dentist

LinkedIn: Nikola Mastilovic

e-mail: nikola.mastilovic@stud.ki.se

 

 

6 thoughts on “The story behind my decision to pursue a Master’s in Health Informatics at KI

    1. I’m glad you think so Paula!
      As far as the question goes, I have no idea, which is the whole beauty of it… For the moment Sweden is treating me well 🙂

  1. Dear Nikola!

    My husband has a Healt Informatics degree from Toronto, Canada. I live in Sweden and we are currently thinking about establishing our lives here. Since he is just a native speaker of English; what would you say about his chances to find a job, within the field of Health Informatics, in Sweden?

    Kind regards!

  2. Dear Nicola

    Am in Zimbabwe and i am interested in doing health informatics but am worried if i can do it online. My other challenge is the payment of fees.

Leave a Reply

