All about me

Hello World Wide Web !

This is literally the first time I’ve ever written a blog post in my life . I have always loved reading but have been too lazy to write anything myself (sound familiar ? ). The purpose of this post is, as you might have guessed, is to tell you about me, and how I came to Karolinska Institutet .

I am originally from Los Angeles , California on the west coast of the United States. In the picture above you can see me at four years old sitting in a field of our state flower the California Poppy! I grew up as an outgoing cheerleader and a track runner who always wanted to be a surgeon. I was super focused on going to university for pre-Med and Biology and when I graduated from my undergraduate program, I worked in Clinical Transplant research in Atlanta for 2 years. Soon  I achieved my dream, and was accepted to attend The Ohio State University College of Medicine. So how did I end up in a program focused on business?

img_1757Even though I had achieved my dream I was not happy, and when I thought about my future as a doctor, I wasn’t hopeful, which greatly surprised even me. One spring break, I went on a trip to visit my best friend in Sweden, and fell in the love with the country. I really felt that the work life balance was better here than in the U.S and I felt very at home. So when I got back to Ohio, I made a radical choice, I was going to move to EUROPE!! Luckily my parents supported my crazy scheme, and my attempt to shake up my life. Within 6 weeks I quit school, and had found a job in Copenhagen, was on my way there, and couldn’t wipe the smile of of my face.

From that point on, my life shifted in the most wonderful way. I was no longer afraid of the unknown, I embraced it. I started on a journey to find what inspired me. It turns out 3 years later, that what inspires me is business. I love the creativity, interacting with people, and building things. So I searched around trying to find away to learn business that worked for me. When I found Karolinska I was blown away at how perfect the Masters for Bioentrepreneurship was for me. It was connecting my past love of science and medicine, with my new interest in business.  So now my future is open, and anything is possible. I am very much looking forward to this experience here at Karolinska, and all of the relationships I will make a long the way.

img_2685

 

 

8 thoughts on “All about me

    1. Thank you Alexis! It is great to find your path, but I think the most important is that one is willing to make mistakes and “fail” as it were. That’s where the real gold is mined. 😁

  1. I think that you are doing a wonderful job at identifying what choices are right for your life and not right for the moment. I commend you for being brave enough to test your abilities in other areas and see that indeed you have untapped potential in areas such as business, and bioentrepreneurism! I think you are AWEsome!

  2. Congrats Erin on finding the way to combine your passions. I look forward to hearing about the types of projects a bioentrepreneur works on.

Leave a Reply

