Two Suns

I was born in the coastal city of Jeddah, in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, which means that I grew up very familiar to the scorching sun known to the Arabian Desert. When I was 10 we moved to Lahore. Pakistan seemed equally hot and humid, sometimes even worse because of the monsoon. It is the best and the worst weather on earth at the same time. Best because of the rain, worst due to the sun after the rain. So as you can see the sun has been shining on my head blatantly and brutally, making me seek refuge from it endlessly most of my life.

In Stockholm, one of the things that amazed me the most was how the Swedes talked about the sun. While I thought Sweden was a nice reprieve from home where you sometimes feel burnt by the sun, the Swedes talked of it almost amorously. “That is all the sun we had today”, was what one of my instructors said once in class and I wondered if that was really so bad.

As the days grew shorter I did notice the sun was not only less harsh but over time I saw that there were days when it seemed as if it just didn’t want to come out. At times it was as if the clouds were hiding it from the people down below, keeping the warmth all to themselves. I find the stark difference interesting and nearly fascinating.

I believe there are two suns, the harsh scorching sun back home, and a mild shining sun here in Stockholm and so far it is nice playing hide and seek with it.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

