The Long-Awaited Summer Time: Destination Paris

For me, one of the perks of being a student again is that you get a long summer holiday. And believe me, no matter how fond you are with studying, after a whole year of studying you will need a break eventually.

I knew that I’d like to explore Europe during my summer holiday, but apparently traveling for the whole 3 months would not be feasible for me, so my husband and I decided to pick a destination (or maybe 2 😉 ) for this summer and we decided to go to Paris! Yay! ❤

One of the advantages of studying at KI is that you have a very good chance to meet people from every corner of the world, and I’m lucky to get to know Olivia, a fellow digital ambassador who originally comes from Paris! I know that you can easily find a guide-book or web article on where to go and what to do there, but there’s something different if you can really talk to people who actually live there 🙂

So… how was Paris?

It was amazing! Paris was never on the list of my must-go destinations, but it turned out that I like this city very much! The first time I saw the Eiffel Tower from the metro, I immediately thought, ’Oh my God, I’m really in Paris!!!’ 😀 😀 😀

I even managed to go to its 2nd floor, which was a huge achievement for me, because:

  1. I was really afraid of the height and I thought the term ‘2nd floor’ didn’t really reflect the situation 😆 , and
  2. the queue was quite loooooong!

Of course you should expect the 2nd point almost everywhere in Paris during the peak season, because when I visited Louvre, the queue even began right in front of the metro station exit! 😆 I must say, though, that it was totally worth the visit, although never tried to visit the entire museum all at once. *Been tried and failed, obviously* 😆

Olivia suggested me to go to Musée d’Orsay, and after visiting the place, it’s easy to understand why she loves it: it’s the home of many wonderful artworks! Even the building was something to be admired ❤ I think I love Monet’s paintings the most there (although obviously I’m no expert in paintings 😛 )

As a huge admirer of Marie Curie, of course I didn’t miss the chance to stop by Sorbonne, where she used to study (although I didn’t go inside). However, I managed to visit Pantheon, her final resting place, along with other well-known French scientists, writers, and poets.

Other than that, there were some attractions I visited (or at least went through 😆 ), including Sacré Cœur Basilica, Notre-Dame Cathedral, Arc de Triomphe, Champs-Élysées, and many others! I even tried the funicular to get to Sacré Cœur Basilica, which, like its name, was pretty fun 😀

One thing I liked from my visit was the excellent public transportation system (although it was quite hot inside the train ^^’ ) However, you need to be quite vigilant while going around because it was really crowded and the warning sign for pickpockets were everywhere. It was not only the pickpockets though. While I was queuing to buy the metro tickets through the automated machine, I was approached by 3 men who said to be ‘officers’ and offered ‘help’. But I was not sure they were to be trusted because the man who previously stood in front of me received their ‘help’ only to come back not so long after and said ‘I was fooled by those guys’. Of course the 3 men were already gone by then.

Despite that, I also liked the fact that I could enter many of the museums for free (or got the discount, at least), because I was still below 25 years old 😉 Sometimes traveling when you’re young has its own advantage 😀 (Thanks Chen for the information!)

So… that’s a snapshot of my summer time in Paris. What about you? What did you do during the summer? Please leave the comments below! 🙂

Love,

Alicia

3 thoughts on “The Long-Awaited Summer Time: Destination Paris

Leave a Reply

