Sakura: A Spring in Stockholm

Cherry blossom in Kungsträdgården
Sakura (cherry blossom) in Kungsträdgården

When I was a child, I had a chance to move to Japan with my family. It was the first time I lived in a four-season country, and I still remember how distinct the changing was from one season to another. Summer was identical with sunshine, autumn with red and yellow leaves, winter with snow, and spring with this beautiful pinkish cherry blossom, or as I used to call it: sakura.

Back then, if I remember correctly, when the spring came, they would have this tradition to have a picnic under this cherry blossom tree, or hanami. Unfortunately, my first memory with sakura and hanami was stained with a little accident. The night before I had my first hanami, my head hit the edge of a cupboard handle (I didn’t even remember how that was possible), which eventually made my first photo under the cherry blossom trees decorated with an ugly white patch on my forehead.

With my parents
Under the cherry blossom trees with my parents. I didn’t look very sad here. Perhaps I’d already forgotten how painful it was 😛

After I returned from Japan, I somehow felt sorry that I might not be able to see it again. Although there was a botanical garden in Indonesia that had a collection of cherry blossom trees, I never had a chance to visit it when the flowers were blooming. However, after waiting for 21 years, I finally got the chance to see those wonderful flowers blooming again. Not in Nagoya, Japan, but right here in Stockholm, Sweden. ❤

When I received the news that the first cherry blossom had already bloomed in Kungsträdgården, I didn’t wait any longer to visit the place. It was still cloudy and windy, but I finally got the chance to see it again! I was sooooooo happy! XD XD XD

First picture
My first picture with sakura after 21 years. No patch on my forehead now 😛

Afterwards, I couldn’t restrain myself from visiting the same garden again and again and again. The peak was when there was a ‘Cherry blossom day’ (Körsbärsblommans dag) on 18 April (I hope I translated it correctly 😛 ). The weather was quite perfect: warm, with sufficient amount of sunshine, which might explain why there were soooo many people there ^^’

Around the garden, there were booths that were selling a variety of foods (sushi, shrimp chips (?), and candies) as well as displaying some Japanese traditional arts, including origami (paper folding), ikebana (flower arrangement), and calligraphy. There was even a place where you could actually try wearing Japanese traditional clothing (kimono). Some of my friends did actually try them and they looked great! 😀

All in all, I was really happy to be able to see the cherry blossom once again and enjoyed all the festivities around. Welcome spring! 😀

Leave a Reply

