KI Scholarships 2014 – A Story Behind

Studying abroad has always been my dream ever since I could remember. I grew up seeing both my parents got their degrees abroad and it became the source of my inspiration. However, I have known from the start, that without a scholarship, my dream will always be a dream. For most people who come from low and middle income countries like me, scholarships play an important role for the sustainability of our education. Without a scholarship, pursuing a higher education, especially out of the country will be a real challenge.

That is why, when I first received the results of the university admission this year, I was not 100% excited. I was worried. I did not know how I am going to make it this year. The scholarships to which I was previously applying did not yield in a fruitful result.

I was about to give up my dream to go to KI and looked for other opportunities when I received the notification e-mail of my acceptance as one of the KI Scholarships recipients for Global Master’s Program which would cover the tuition fee for the whole study period. When I received that e-mail, I could only be like 😯 😯 😯 and thinking, oh God, why? Now what should I do???

My first step was, of course, to look for additional source of funding. I tried to apply for another partial scholarship provided by the government, but even as I write this blog post, the results are still not available yet. Many people questioning me for being persistent about going to KI. Many people even suggested that I should turn the offer down and applied for other scholarships/schools instead. But I knew I couldn’t and I didn’t want to. At that very moment, my family, who had always known my dream then finally decided to support me. I didn’t come from a wealthy family, far from that. But my parents had always tried to give their best for their children’s education, so with their support, I was finally able to fully utilize the KI Scholarships this year.

Last Tuesday, there was a KI Scholarship Ceremony, where the scholarship diplomas were being conferred to the awardees by the Vice-Chancellor of Karolinska Institutet, Professor Anders Hamsten. At that moment, I really wished I had had my parents there because I knew it meant as much for them as for me. It had also been a wonderful evening since I got the chance to meet so many important people from KI as well as other talented awardees from Master’s Program in Public Health Sciences, Health Informatics, Toxicology, and Bioentrepreneurship (not to mention the fancy reception afterward, but that’s another thing).

KI Scholarship 2014 awardees with the Vice Chancellor of Karolinska Institutet, Professor Anders Hamsten and Dean of the Board of Higher Education, Professor Jan-Olov Höög. (Photo was taken from http://ki.se/en/news/award-ceremony-for-this-years-global-masters-scholars)
KI Scholarship 2014 awardees with the Vice Chancellor of Karolinska Institutet, Professor Anders Hamsten and Dean of the Board of Higher Education, Professor Jan-Olov Höög. (Photo was taken from http://ki.se/en/news/award-ceremony-for-this-years-global-masters-scholars)

So… to end this post, I would like to thank Karolinska Institutet for providing us such a huge opportunity, and for my beloved family, for the continuous support to help me making my dreams comes true. I will always do my best for you.

Until next post!

Alicia

5 thoughts on “KI Scholarships 2014 – A Story Behind

Leave a Reply

