Hello and welcome! Hej och välkomna!

Hello everyone!

My name is Radek (shorter version of Radosław) and I’m a new student of the Global Master’s Programme in Toxicology at Karolinska Institutet. Originally, I’m from the city called Wrocław, located in the south-western region of Poland (Lower Silesia), bordering Czech Republic and Germany.

During this year I am going to blog here and give you some insight into tox master’s programme as well as living in Sweden in general. I already have a lot of ideas for the next posts, since last September was my first month here in Sweden and contained many events worth noticing. Anyway, I’ll first group them into separate topics, such as accommodation, Swedish language, Toxicology programme, living in Sweden etc. so that every post is about something different and the at the same time whole blog is much more accessible to follow.

As for now, I would like to share my first impressions on the Toxicology programme:

The first course was called ‘Introduction to Toxicology’ and was based solely on lectures, which aim was to give as a grasp of general concepts of toxicology and epidemiology. Even though the course itself was not that fascinating, it let us start the toxicology programme with equal chances, as each of us came to KI with different scientific background, such as medicine, pharmacology, biotechnology or biology.

Now we have just begun much more interesting course, called ‘Target Organ Toxicity’ which is based on the Problem Based Learning approach. That is, we have a certain task to solve in a small group, comprising 4 to 6 people. Like detectives, we have to find a clue and solve the mystery behind certain medical problems. This method is much more effective for me, and, what is more, gives us an outline of how real work in the medical company looks like.

Finally, I would like to emphasize at this point that my own impressions might be subjective from time to time, since each of us experience different things in a different way. That is why the KI Digital Ambassadors are diverse and come from many countries so that you can compare my opinion on certain things with the opinions of the other bloggers.

Best,

Radek

PS: Have a look at the beautiful sunset from my window!

10639052_10201569516800168_1591104399_o

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

