Stockholm City Planning and Playing Deer Hunter

Well, it doesn’t take long for internationals to recognize the Swede’s love and respect for nature. In fact, I often seem to find it difficult to be standing in a place in which I cannot see a single scene in which you can’t see a tree much less an entire park. And indeed it would seem that the veins of public transit that streamlessly connect the citizens to the entire city often restrict the regions and amount of area that is available for development. But honestly I find this to be a positive. Considering that by virtue of not being developed, more and more perfectly undeveloped natural areas are able to reach further and further into the heart of city. From T-Central, it could only take 30 minutes before you’re in the middle of the woods! I don’t think this is an accident. So like I said, Swedes love nature.

But still, for those who have difficulty finding time to hop a train and go find a deer in the woods, fear not. For Stockholms Banksy-esque street artists have brought the the opportunity to spot a deer into the heart of the city. When I spotted my first deer, I must admit that I didn’t think that much of it. It was just along my walk to school sitting there alongside the path between Karolinska and Västra Skogen.

Image

Do you see it? How about a closer look.

Image

There she is. Hiding in the branches. But as I kept walking, I noticed she wasn’t alone. There was another one.

Image

Here’s another close-up.

Image

As I continued my walk up the path past the PostNord building, I noticed another chilling out on the front of a street sign.

Image

See?

Image

And another hiding behind a street sign.

Image

Here was another guy tucked up hiding between the signs.

Image

And these two were traveling together!

Image

And finally this guy was last one hiding out.

Image

I wonder if they’re hiding in the rest of the city now. I think I’ve found myself a new hobby: Deer hunting. Walk around the city, find a deer, take a shot at it with my camera, and move on to the next one. Now all I need is a deer stalker just like Sherlock.

Until next time, deer! Peace out!

Image

Leave a Reply

