Hockey game at the Ericsson Globe

This past Sunday, I had the pleasure of attending my very first hockey game. I had always wanted to go see a live game, and I was presented with the perfect opportunity to do so when the store where I usually buy my groceries gave me two free tickets to watch the men’s national teams of Sweden and Russia face off. I was really excited to see two of the world’s strongest teams play each other!20140504_145914The game took place in the iconic Ericsson Globe, which can be seen from a great distance. I pass by it on my commute to KI every day, but it is especially nice to see it lit up during the night. According to the official website, it is the largest spherical building in the world! This venue hosts all kinds of events from concerts to sports events.20140504_151848Each seat was decked out with a Swedish flag to wave (the Russia fans had to bring their own flags, of course). I enjoyed spotting these children (here pictured as people began to take their seats). They got really into it and often chanted “Sverige! Sverige! Sverige!”20140504_153605Hockey is an exciting and fast-paced sport that has a long tradition in Sweden, so it was very fun to watch my first game here. As an added bonus, the Swedish men’s national team, Tre Kronor, won! I will definitely be attending more sports events like this in the future.20140504_161722

Leave a Reply

