Kulturnatt Stockholm

Hello everyone, I apologise for my lack of posting. I have been home in Ireland and basically had a little break. However now I am back and ready to blog! I hope you have been following our instagram account ‘kistudentblogs’ as there has been so much happening around KI and Stockholm that it is such a good source of inspiration & reality of living here from the perspective of us bloggers! Okay so onto my blog post…so last night was culture night ‘Kulturnatt’ here in Stockholm and it was pretty amazing! Basically it was a night of art, music and dance with admission fees waived allowing free entrance to many locations all over Stockholm. This came into effect after 6pm and this meant venues such as Nobel museum and the Royal palace were free of charge as well as any shows in the Opera house that night among much much more!

IMG_20140427_020313(1)
I’m just gonna sit down real quick… 😀

I myself met a few friends and we headed to the Opera House ‘Kungliga Operan’, unfortunately there was a stampede of people in the queue and we missed free tickets to a show. However we did get to walk around the beautiful interior and have some champagne in the piano room, complete with some beautiful pieces being played. After that we went to the royal palace also in Gamla Stan, ‘Kungliga slottet’ for a tour. I had never been and was very excited to see the beautiful rooms and decorative pieces and art and I was not disappointed, it was simply beautiful. As we were exiting the palace there was an orchestra playing in the grand hall with stunning royal architecture taking centre stage. After that ended we went for a walk around Gamla Stan before having a much needed ‘Fika’.

IMG_20140427_020010
The orchestra played beautifully

There was the official culture night after party in the City hall and I heard from a few people who had been that it was amazing. Overall the atmosphere in the city was wonderful adding the fact that the sun was out in full force meant I had such a lovely time. Stockholm is truly a city of decadence and after last night I realise a city brimming with culture & history.

hej hej,
Andrew.

Leave a Reply

