Summer is coming!

It keeps baffling me how fast time is moving!

It feels like just yesterday I arrived in London, but now it’s already mid-April. Looking at the calendar, I keep finding things I’ve written down thinking “oh, that’s a long way down the road” suddenly happening next week!

One such example is Easter-break. For me doing my Bachelor thesis in London, university closes on Thursday and I won’t be back until Monday the 28th of April. Honestly, I really need and look forward to that break. I’m going home to see my parents and have them spoil me with fish, eggs and candy (which is what Swedish Easter is all about) at my dads tranquil summer home in the south.
I’ll be running my 9K track around the never ending farm fields and pens with horses, cows and pigs and be playing card- and board games.
As much as I am more of a “city girl”, like most Swedes I do enjoy the peace and quiet outside the city every now and then. (Another cultural difference I’ve noticed being abroad – in Sweden it’s very common for a family to have a “summer home” somewhere secluded in addition to your ordinary accommodation. Not so much in other countries.)

After Easter-weekend I’ll be attending Kings Day in the Netherlands for the first time, that should be interesting! And then, all of a sudden, it’s Monday the 28th of April! Probably my last week of experiments (apart from maybe some additional, I’m not sure) and then “just” thesis writing. All in all I have three weekends left in London and there’s still so much I’d like to do!

I’m quite happy I’ve been doing a project that has allowed for a bit of writing simultaneously as the experiments and also grateful for the long Easter break, during which I will definitely need to bring my laptop. But I can imagine I’ll still feel pressed for time by the end of it!
Never underestimate the time it takes to write a thesis… And how quickly time goes.

Here’s some tips that works for me about writing the thesis:
1. Write out the headlines. 
It doesn’t matter if you don’t know what to write under them yet, just having some vague idea of what needs to be in there and having some text is a good start. You’ll probably figure out more headlines as you go along, so don’t get stressed if you don’t immediately have seven headlines in your introduction.
Just start.
Don’t wait for the perfect sentence. Just write something. You’ll be changing everything later anyway.
3. Don’t get stuck.
Sick of writing the introduction? Can’t find the words? Don’t feel like finding that reference? Then do it another day, write methods or something instead, it will also have to be there eventually anyway.
4. Save everything.
Have a separate document where you copy interesting segments from papers and their references, and facts that you need in your thesis but don’t know where to put yet. Also things you don’t need for your thesis but are good for you to know and remember belongs in that document.
5. Set goals.
Like “on Monday I’m writing underneath that headline.” or “that week I’ll only be dealing with references.”
6. Decide on rewards.
Like – I will now be effective for one more hour, then I’ll be allowed to watch TV/go for a run/read a book. Whatever reward gets you going. Or another type of reward: “I am allowed to eat this candy only when I’m writing my thesis.” (warning – thesis writing may make you gain weight.)

Leave a Reply

