Now that you have applied…

In October 2013 I wrote something about planning the application process. Hope that was useful for some of you. Now I will continue with the following steps summarized in a big “be patient”.

3. Following up

Once University Admissions has your documents the admission process starts. You must check your account at UA as they will use the messages tab to communicate any remark they find in your documents. It appears that the actual qualification process starts in March (I say this based on my experience and is not official information), so you could have some additional time to solve any remark. That was the case with my TOEFL results in my first application.

4. Qualification process

You have had two months or more waiting any news about your application. As soon as the deadline for receiving documents passes, the status in your application will change to “in process”. They check the documents you send and begin to figure out if you are qualified for the Master program or not. You are still able to modify the order of priority in the programs you selected but be careful. This not happened to me but I read somewhere on the web that if you perform any change to your application after the deadline, it will be considered as a late application. So, ask for the University Admissions’ advice before any change.
 4
In my most recent case, remeber I applied for 2012 also, I received the status Qualified very quickly, first days of March of 2013, for one of my options. But for the others three I had to wait until about a week before the results announcement date. So, do not be scared if you do not see any change. In all my applications I received the status Qualified for all masters of programs involved. If you receive the status Qualified it means, as the University Admissions page itself says, that you meet the minimum admission requirements. Now you are competing with other people more or less qualified tan you, but all qualified. My experience is that the selection process is very tough.
You will also see a merit ranking and a group where you have been placed. This is, for me, the more confusing step because each university has its own groups and they place you in a group or other according criteria you do not know. If at this moment you were anxious, now you could be even more. But don’t panic. Here, in Swedish, a site where many, but not all, the admission groups codes for many Swedish universities are decoded : http://www.studeravidare.se/om-hogskolan/urvalsgrupper
The Swedish Council for Higher Education manages a site where you can check statistics of previous selection processes: http://statistik.uhr.se/. It is in Swedish but, if you do not understand the language, Google solves you that problem. In that site you can see how many people applied for each program or course, how many of them are women or men, how many has Swedish ID number. But the most thrilling thing is that you can find the minimum admission points to your program in previous runs. This can bring hope and more anxiety or, for many of you, disappointment and frustration. But take in account that each case is different, each yearly selection also. If you are in status Qualified, please keep your hopes. In my first application process (2012) my merit ranking for a program at Karolinska Intitutet was 7 / 20. It seemed, and it was, a low qualification, but, anyhow, I was placed in a waiting list after the first admission round. I saw in 2013 that the minimum rating admitted in 2012 was 10, so I was not very far.
3
Ki Communication office have put data for 2014 applications on Facebook prospective students page. I am coying that info below (data updated on February 6th).
The total number of applicants for our global master’s and bachelor’s programmes this year are the following:
Global Health – 664
Biomedicine Master – 475
Biomedicine Bachelor – 306 (still open for late applications)
Health Informatics – 184 (still open for late applications)
Public Health, Epidemiology – 470
Public Health, Health Economics, Policy and Management – 484
Bioentrepreneurship – 197 (still open for late applications)
Toxicology – 182 (still open for late applications).
When results are near to appear I will continue this series

22 thoughts on “Now that you have applied…

  1. thank you for posting this Mauricio! I checked the statistics for this year’s applicants and I have found that my first choice KI same program as yours has 193 first choice applicants competing for 20 places! while my second choice Goteborg master in public health, health economics has 45 first choice applicants only! I would like to change my preference but I already submitted my SI scholarship application with my previous preference, so I wanted to ask you if its better to keep the same order or change it in order to get a much better chance! What would you have done and any details concerning how you got a spot?! Thank you!!

    1. Hey Ali,
      My choice and your choice for the first and the second priority is the same. did you get any notification on university admission? Here I can see that I am qualified for the second choice (GU) and it says my selection group is AU with ranking 400.
      regards

      1. hey Jeew,

        Good to hear! I also got qualified but with a ranking of 200, which is lower than yours, and by checking the statistics website that Mauricio provided, you could see that the acceptance rate was 400 last year and 600 the year before, so I guess you have a better chance than I do. Hopefully KI would give me better rating and good luck to you!

  2. Hi Ali,
    First of all thank you for reading our blogs.

    Before changing anything I would confirm with University Admissions that any change in priority does not place me as a late applicant. I think that would be the worst case you could face.
    See these two links that could provide you additional info:
    https://www.universityadmissions.se/en/All-you-need-to-know1/Applying-for-studies/Application-process/Ranking-your-selections/Ranking-your-selections-at-the-masters-level/
    https://www.universityadmissions.se/en/All-you-need-to-know1/Frequently-asked-questions/Supporting-documentation/When-is-my-application-considered-late-/

    After that, I would consider that the competition for the SI scholarships are very hard, more than being admitted in one specific university.

    Later, I would recall why did I put that priority order: university ranking, city, program, future opportunities (PhD, work, etc), how that is important in my CV and all the things you had in mind when deciding that order. You could, maybe, include the cost of tuition fee in each university but do not forget that you are doing a long run bet although you pay it in a couple of years. In my case, studying at KI was a dream I had many years ago, so it overcomes almost everything else.

    Only if, after considering all those things, the evidence is overwhelmingly supporting the decision to change I would do it. If I have any reasonable doubt I will keep my choices as they are now. Please do not forget the selection at KI could be that hard that your partners would be the best of the best and that you leran a lot from the interaction with them. But I do not know how good is your second option, you know that better than me as I imagine you have done a very deep research.

    Finally, ask yourself some questions: What is the purpose of studying this master? What do I want to achieve in the long term? I would go for the university that, in my opinion, answers my questions in a better way .

    1. Thank you so much for your reply Mauricio! I checked with university admissions sweden and it’s not possible to change my preferences now, but after comparing both programmes, it is clear that KI is by far the best in the country, which is why I chose it in the first place. I just got a little scared when I looked at the number of applicants compared to the available places, add to that my average GPA of 2.98 which is sadly not among the best of the best. I still hope that my extracurricular activities, TOEFL IBT score( 109/120) would be enough to make it. Thank you again for your help!

  3. Thank you! I have done the translation and it just said “Admission Points,” does that mean that’s the minimum number of admission points/ranking number that was admitted?

  4. And did you end up getting in with your 7/20 ranking? That’s what I had, and I just found out today I was placed on the waiting list, reserve 79. What do you think o that?

  5. did you get in off of the waiting list when you were 7/20? that’s what i got and i found out today i’m on the waiting list at reserve 79. what do you think of that?

    1. Hello, As far as I remeber I got 7 in my first attempt and a higher score in the second and definitive. I can not give you an opinion as I do not have idea on how they score and how they select. Sorry, but a waiting list number 79 does not look very promising. But who knows

      1. Hello, Did you end up getting accepted on the reserve list in spot 1? I’m in the same situation and i’m so nervous!

      2. mmm, No. I was number 1 in one free standing course I applied for. When I was place in waiting list I was 17 or something like that. For the course, I was admitted. But all this happened three or four years ago. I do not have clear memories of that more that the posts I wrote in 2014. I think you have good chances if you are in the first place. Crossing fngers.

  6. hi. I’ve been placed on the reserve list for the bio entrepreneurship program. my waiting list number in the AMR selection group is 24 (20 in the group have been offered a place). I have no idea if I have a chance. I did mess up by forgetting to upload the CV form, in all the chaos. Do you think that is the reason I didn’t get offered a place? Should I keep my hopes high with thist ranking?

    1. Hi Fazal!

      As Mauricio graduated and is no longer a Digital Ambassador, he is not like to answer this himself, so I will answer on his behalf.

      Our experience tells us there is no way of providing a realistic guess on your chances – even knowing your programme and your exact spot on the waiting list. It differs a lot from year to year.

      Even if you were number 1 on the waiting list, chances are you wouldn’t be admitted in the second round on 21 April. It depends on the students we just admitted and whether they accept or decline their offer. Their decision depends on scholarship applications, offers from other universities and so much more.

      Generally, we can say that a very large proportion of our admitted students accept their offer of admission, but each year some choose not to – mostly for financial reasons. However, we admit more students in the 1st selection round than the programmes have seats available as a response to this. This means, that even if you are number 1 in line, someone declining their offer will not necessarily trigger an offer for you.

      The best we can say to give you a bit of hope is this: It does happen each year that we admit applicants from the waiting list – but not necessarily for every programme.

      I’m sorry to give you such a “non-answer” but it’s the best we can say with any certainty. All we can do is tell you to wait for the results of the 2nd admissions round coming on 21 April.

      Kind regards and the best of luck
      //Kasper – Social Media Manager

  7. Hi, sorry for bothering you. I applied to Global Health program, and it just noticed me that I was on the waiting list and my number is 13. I’m super nervous now, do you see any chance I can get in?

    1. Hi Ring

      I’m afraid I have to give you the same answer as I just gave Fazal right above – that we can’t tell you anything conclusive.

      Kind regards and the best of luck
      //Kasper – Social Media Manager

Leave a Reply

