Master thesis planning!

It feels like it’s been ages since I posted something here. There are of course good reasons to clarify this.

During the Christmas break, I went back to my home-country (Egypt) to celebrate Christmas with family and friends, but even before that, I was busy preparing for my master thesis project.

For those of you who are wondering what that preparation process is all about, here are some of the most important things that I had done in November and December in order to be able to start working on my project.

First of all, finding a topic!

Believe me, this task is not as easy as it might seem. The problem here (at least for me) is that there are many topics to choose from (either the ones offered by KI, existing projects and of course own ideas). Many professors and experienced people told us that it’s better to go for your own ideas instead of picking an existing project. I think I tried hard to stick to that.

Finding a supervisor:

Health Informatics programme is a bit special in that aspect. We can choose supervisors from KI or DSV (Stockholm’s University) and/or even external (non-KI, non-DSV) supervisors. Once again, it seems like there are many options, but since these supervisors are extremely busy either with their own ongoing projects or even supervising other students, it’s highly recommended to find one quickly.

Lots of meetings and discussions:

To be able to formulate your idea (or even discuss the existing ones) and come up with the appropriate research questions and ways to answer them.

Reading:

This stage is crucial throughout the whole course of preparation because it inspires and guides you.

 

Right now, I’m working on finalizing my project plan that is to be submitted on the 4th of Feb to be able to get feedback before actually implementing the whole plan… I’ll keep you updated in further posts and will also talk about my thesis and the different topics that many Health Informatics students are covering this year, so stay tuned 😉

Leave a Reply

