Winter is Coming…

Hej hej,

I just wanted to write a short post on the weather here is Stockholm.

IMG_20131115_153319

Västra Skogen at 15:15……

So it is right now 15:15 and already it is getting very dark.. and cold.. and there are no more leaves left on the trees. As a result of this I have felt a strong desire to drink lots of coffee! It is no wonder to me how ‘fika’ (Coffee with a pastry and a friend) has become so important here. It really lifts the spirits particularly on these cold days and nights.

Luckily Sweden is very prepared with amazing insulation and heating in every building. There are sun rooms in the Karolinska campus and also sun rooms in my gym. These are great for those who may be vulnerable to any negative mental effects of the darkness. However for me I find it quite the opposite at least so far. I love the cold and the dark and the rain and everything! It reminds me of home but also may be partly because I have spent the last year and a half of my life in the subtropical climates of Australia and South East Asia that now I appreciate it more.

I will need to get snow boots and heavier jackets in preparation for the coming weeks and months. The snow is to fall soon and that will be a real experience. In Ireland snow is little more than 1cm and it quickly turns to ice. I am looking forward to ice skating on a real lake and skiing for the first time in my life. I guess what I am saying is if you decide to move here just be prepared. It is cold, it is dark but in that there is a real warmth of people and of being together and just enjoying the company of those close to you in a heavily heated building with lots of blankets and coffee 🙂

Hej då for now

Andrew

One thought on “Winter is Coming…

Leave a Reply

