Rollercoaster – what a week, what a year.

The last few weeks have seen me finish a Masters degree, say good bye to many loved friends, have a final trip around Scandinavia (Norway to be precise) and move black home! It’s been a rollercoaster few weeks and emotions have been running high! To say I’ve enjoyed this year is putting it lightly it has been one of the best years of my life (possibly the best) a lot of this due to the people I both knew before I arrived and who I met on arrival, (especially one person in particular you know who you are) 🙂

So finishing a Masters degree…well the final few weeks were quite intense, lots of drafting, redrafting, suddenly saving a file as Final draft became quite optimistic especially when several days later you were on Final draft 5. The thesis defense – an oral presentation with an examiner and evaluator was quite nerve-wracking, no matter how much confidence one (I) might have, nothing quite prepares you for a Masters examination. Thankfully, it went without any major hiccups, of course I was given many valuable and valid suggestions to improve my thesis, suggestions which I took on board and which helped to secure a Masters degree in Medical Science.

Graduation ceremony certificate.
Graduation ceremony certificate.

My Masters defense was on the last day of our final working week, so essentially I was one of the last ones to present! This was met with lots of emotion and sadness that soon I would be leaving behind a group of friends that I had become a part of my Swedish family, people with such varied and interesting backgrounds, from whom I learnt so much both academically but also culturally. Day after day we said goodbye as students left Sweden to return home! I very much hope that there will be a reunion very very soon!

Saying goodbye is an excuse to fika (have coffee and a littl e something on the side: in our case muffins) :)
Saying goodbye is an excuse to fika (have coffee and a littl e something on the side: in our case muffins) 🙂
photo3
Saying goodbye and enjoying the Swedish Summer!

After the thesis defense and with emotions running high it was time to relax and unwind! A very good friend and I made a quick trip over to neighbouring Norway! We travelled by plane over snow capped mountains and rolling greenery, we stayed in idyllic Bergen where rain seemed to be the norm, however, we didnt mind this too much, given the beautiful dramatic backdrop we were treated to. On our return leg we travelled by train and what a train journey it was! The pictures say it all! And I should mention my travel companion made it all the more better! 🙂

A view of old Bryggen - a World UNESCO heritage site.
A view of old Bryggen – a World UNESCO heritage site.
A fantastic friend and a beautiful view in the background!
A fantastic friend and a beautiful view in the background!
Fjordland Norway.
Beautiful fjordland Norway.
On the train from Bergen to Oslo, simply stunning!
On the train from Bergen to Oslo, simply stunning!

And then the day of moving arrived! I don’t like change, I especially don’t like change where I’ve grown to love a city and country as though it were home! I am sure that one day Sweden will be just that but for now I’m very thankful for the experience I was given and can say one thing with my hand on my heart, I had an amazing time, meeting new people and getting to know more friends from times before, thank you to everyone who made this year so special.

6 thoughts on “Rollercoaster – what a week, what a year.

  1. CONGRATS NAIYA…YOUR LAST BLOG WAS VERY SAD YET QUITE AN ACCOMPLISHMENT AND FRIENDSHIP U CREATED WITH OTHERS AND BONDING WITH THE FRIENDS IS LIFE LONG EXPERIENCE. BEAUTY OF YOUR TRAVELS AND THE VIEW OF THE YOUR JOURNEY IS BREATHTAKEING……U MUST BE SO PROUD OF YOUR ACHIEVEMENT AND BEST OF LUCK IN YOUR NEXT LEG OF LIFE……………KEEP US POSTED WITH YOUR NEW JOURNEY WHEREEVER IT MAY TAKE U.

    1. Thank you ever so much for all your amazing comments through the last year! I’m glad you were able to share the experience with me through the year! See you soon!

  2. The photos are stunning! It has been very interesting and fun to read your posts on the blog. I wish you all the best in the future, and look forward to seeing you in Sweden again!

    1. Thank you very much Karin! It has certainly be a great year and all the better for documenting it in these blogs which no doubt I’ll read many times over in years to come! Thank you for your wishes, I hope they bring me back to Sweden sooner rather than later! 🙂

  3. MY DEAR NAIYA
    THIS IS ASHWINKAKA, WISHING YOU OUR HEARTIEST CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR FANTASTIC ACHIEVEMENTS. WE ARE ALL SO VERY PROUD OF YOU, AND THERE IS NO DOUBTS IN MY MIND THAT DAD IS SHOWERING HIS WISHES AND BLESSINGS FROM THE HIGHEST PLACE IN THIS UNIVERSE.
    LOOKING FOREWARD TO SEEING YOU SOON, AND WE ARE SO VERY GLAD THAT YOU AND MINAL WILL BE MEETING AMAR SOON.
    LOTS OF LOVE

    1. Thank you very much Kaka! I have had a great year and unlike many previous years it’s not been as much of a challenge in the conventional sense, I think alot of this is due to how much I enjoyed the year, making any challenges seem like small hurdles! Look forward to celebrating many things this week with you all very soon!

Leave a Reply

