Field “Work” Nostalgia

I’m finally back in Sweden, as of yesterday. It’s a lot colder than El Salvador, but much warmer than when I left so I’m not complaining. I have to get to work on writing my thesis soon, but my mind is still processing everything from my trip. I didn’t take as many photos as I would have liked, but here are a few that stand out:

The beaches, of course, stand out.
Sunsets and beaches, of course.
But it wasn't all relaxing on the beach. I had serious work to do too. Once.
But it wasn’t all relaxing on the beach. I had serious work to do too. Once.
I also had to see the sights. My first volcano hike...
I also had to see the sights. My first volcano hike…
...was a little underwhelming.
…was not as much of an adventure as I had imagined.
But I did enjoy the local fare. The (in)famous El Chory's hot dogs.
But I did enjoy the local fare. The (in)famous El Chory’s hot dogs.
Reminded me of "danger dogs," for anyone who has been to Los Angeles.
…reminded me of “danger dogs,” for anyone who has been out late night in Los Angeles. A lot of things in San Salvador reminded me of LA.
Seafood was cheap and delicious. Had to take advantage of that.
Seafood was cheap and delicious. Had to take advantage of that.
I like to take photos of street art wherever I travel. This was actually at the hospital.
I like to take photos of street art wherever I travel. This was actually at the hospital.
And go to cultural events. The procession for Semana Santa (Easter) was an experience.
And go to cultural events. The procession for Semana Santa (Easter) was an experience.
They make these beautiful "alfombras" (carpets) out of dyed salt to line the streets of the procession.
They make these beautiful “alfombras” (carpets) out of dyed salt to line the streets of the procession.
Last but not least, I made some good friends.
Last but not least, I made some good friends.

Leave a Reply

