Happy (belated) World Health Day!

If you’re a PH aficionado, you would know that World Day has come and passed with April 7th. Still, WHO has been preparing for a while and they did have an important theme in mind for this year: high blood pressure. There have been posters around the HQs asking (presumably the employees, interns, external visitors…) if they were “Under pressure?”. And, although I tried making light of  it  saying that employees are for sure “under pressure” due to the working environment (with what, I confess, was a slightly arrogant lack of concern for such an issue given to me by just my youth), I did realize that this is no joking matter. In fact, while watching this short video, and browsing the newly-released “A global brief on hypertension”, I realized that at least one of the risk factors for high blood pressure apply to me personally.

I learned this slightly uncomfortable, but useful lesson, last week, during an event dedicated to World Health Day. During the event, WHO Director-General, Dr. Margaret Chan, shared her “numbers”, and urged us all to check our blood pressure in the WHO lobby. Not before inviting us to join her in singing Happy Birthday to WHO! That’s an experience I honestly never thought I would have!

2 thoughts on “Happy (belated) World Health Day!

  1. Hi! am in my third year as an undergraduate student in nursing and wish apply for the Public Health(Health Economic,Policy &Management track) and i want study with the SI scholarship which demands for motivation letter.Can you give me guidance as to how to write it.Thank you for inspiring me.

  2. Hi, sorry for the delayed reply. Well, I know that the motivation letter can be the most avoided step in an application process. That was my experience, at least. I can’t give you a template for it, but I can tell you what I included when I applied. I started with an overall statement about why I was applying to the master programme. In the next two paragraphs, I supported my introductory statement with examples from my previous studies and work experience. I had an entire paragraph about my cross-cultural experiences and how they changed my thinking. In the conclusion, I went back to the introductory idea and re-stated with more emphasis, based on the examples I gave. My advice is not to be afraid to be bold and enthusiastic in those last sentences. All in all, I had 4 paragraphs: short ones for introduction and conclusion and two, longer, for the sections detailing my personal experiences leading me to the choice to study that master. Maybe this is something you have heard before, perhaps better expressed. I believe that what makes a motivation letter good is how personal and honest it is. That’s why there are no templates, really. Good luck with the application process! Cheers, Ioana

Leave a Reply

