Back to basics

DSC_0456It’s been a while since the last time I wrote, sorry for that. The truth of the matters is that my last two courses have been really demanding. But here I am to say Happy Eastern!, and Congratulations! to those of you who got admitted for next term. I know. I know. Some of you international friends are still waiting for the scholarship response. Hold on just a bit more. You’re almost there, and I’m sure whatever the answer is, you’ll end up where you have to be. That’s for sure.

During March, light (sun) came back as quickly as it went away during the Fall and Winter. I remember I was having a great stroll through one of my favorite places in Stockholm, Skogskyrkogården. Known in English as “The Cemetery of the Woods”. Guys, this place is amazing! I know some of you are probably going to think “what’s she talking about?! A place full of graveyards been amazing?!” Well, believe it or not, it is a spectacular and fantastic place.

As some of you may already know, this city surroundings are beautiful landscapes. Skogskyrkogården is not an exemption. In 1994 it was named UNESCO world heritage site (no doubt about it!). Once you have arrived to the huge field, there’s a special spot instantly visible which is my favorite, called “Almhöjden”. You can stand there having a great 360-degree view of the entire place, but if you close your eyes and just breath in and out for a couple of minutes, you’ll get an extraordinary magical peaceful feeling. No kidding!

DSC_0524

DSC_0550

I’ve heard many people -even Swedish friends- saying they’ve heard about this place, but actually never been to. If you are coming to Stockholm, don’t forget to visit this place. I’ve taken friends and relatives who have come to visit me to Stockholm, and they all have shared the same sensation. Some people go there to take a nice walk or jogging. Some others may think of this site as a meditation place… Could be. Why not? At the end of the day, in spite the burden of our days, we all need to go “back to basics”. Trying these nice type of activities can make the difference.

Enjoy the pictures!

DSC_0602

5 thoughts on “Back to basics

  1. I take notice of this place, many thanks. I have spent sometrime in Stockholm and I love it. But I haven’t heard of this place. I am returning next fall, hopefully, to study the other track of your master. Thanks, also, for the kind words for newcomers 🙂

      1. Sí, hablo español, soy colombiano. Espero que la visita no sea tan definitiva para quedarme a “vivir” en ese barrio (el barrio de los acostados, lo llaman a veces en estas tierras).
        (para este cometario uso como identificación la cuenta de twitter en vez de la de WordPress que usé antes)
        Mauricio Duque Arrubla

Leave a Reply

