(Scandinavian) Halloween

Hi again,

The global health class tends to get together to celebrate at the slightest excuse. It’s one of the many things I love about this group. Yesterday one of our classmates invited us to a Halloween party at her flat. I am told that Halloween is not a big thing in Sweden, and yet I keep seeing people dressed up (presumably) on their way to Halloween-themed events. Maybe it’s time you stopped denying that you love this “holiday,” Sweden.

Anyway I can’t do this justice in words, so take a look for yourselves: ImageMy flatmate and I, getting ready. I’m the one with the moustache…

Image

A couple of our classmates. Best costumes of the night, in my opinion.

ImageOur host! Not sure if that’s fear or anger she’s expressing.

ImageTwo Fridas! What a coincidence.

ImageOne thing I learned last night: people who allegedly don’t celebrate Halloween take Halloween very seriously. People seem to feel obligated to act the part of their costume. This is unlike what I’m used to, which is that we forget we’re wearing a costume and embarrass ourselves passively (see: moustached guy, photo #1).

ImageThriller. Never fails.

ImageAnd, of course, Gangnam, this season’s thriller.

I’m looking forward to many more of these themed events. I’ll do my best to keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

